We help Devon and Cornwall’s
branch lines to grow.

We help Devon and Cornwall’s branch lines to grow.

Who we are
The Devon and Cornwall Rail Partnership at Plymouth station

We are a non-profit partnership between local authorities, the railway and Plymouth University, where our team is based.

Our core funding partners are Cornwall Council, Devon County Council, Plymouth City Council, Great Western Railway (GWR) and South West Trains.

Our impact
Passengers on a branch line train

Passenger numbers have more than doubled on the counties’ branch lines since 2001.

We have helped secure more frequent trains on each of the lines, and have made stations more attractive and welcoming in partnership with community volunteers.

Map of Devon and Cornwall's branch lines

Image Map
Growth since 2001

Tarka Line (Exeter – Barnstaple)
Avocet Line (Exeter – Exmouth)
Tamar Valley Line (Plymouth – Gunnislake)
Looe Valley Line (Liskeard – Looe)
Atlantic Coast Line (Par – Newquay)
Maritime Line (Truro – Falmouth)
St Ives Bay Line (St Erth – St Ives)

National recognition
When the Devon and Cornwall Rail Partnership was founded in 1991, we were the country’s first Community Rail Partnership (CRP).

There are now more than 60 CRPs around the UK. Supported by the Association of Community Rail Partnerships, they come together at the annual Community Rail Awards to share and celebrate best practice.

Since the event began in 2005 we have been awarded ten 1st places, four 2nd places and six 3rd places.

Receiving the Outstanding Teamwork Award in 2014